As we have described previously we want Shroud of the Avatar to be a classless system that allows players to define and play any role they choose. We also want a clear path for growth and specialization while also maintaining opportunities for competition and cooperation. This is our current thinking on how to accomplish those goals. Remember this is just current thinking and we will probably change many of these details. Note that we use the term “skill” to cover all player abilities including spells, combat moves, etc.

There are 3 Base Stats: Strength, Dexterity, and Intelligence that work as you would expect. There are 3 Calculated Stats: Health, Defense, and Focus (aka Mana).

Players gain two kinds of experience (Crafting and Adventuring) based on the kind of activities they are doing. Players level up in either Crafting or Adventuring at certain experience point totals. When players level up they get skill points and increases to their stats. The players can use those skill points to learn skills from a trainer. There are no classes so players can spend skill points on any kind of skill as long as they meet the prerequisites (almost always a preceding skill in a tree).

Skills System:
There are Active Skills (yellow) and Innate Skills (white). Active skills are used by the player during combat to produce a desired effect (fireball, heal, parry, etc.). Innate Skills are on all the time and increase the effects (power, range, etc.) of all skills in the school. Adding skill points to an Innate Skill increases the effect of that innate skill. This has the knock off effect of eliminating the need to pump Active Skills. Adding skill points to Active Skills increases the number of copies of that skill the player has therefore increasing the frequency that skill will appear during combat. There are “hidden” Active Skills that can only be used by doing combos with skills during combat.

Damage Types:
There are 6 damage types (with corresponding resistances)

  1. Physical: Armor provides most protection against. Weapons, Poison, etc.
  2. Magical: Tends to ignore armor. Encompasses magical damage not covered by an elemental type
  3. Electrical: Stuns targets. Lightning, static charges, etc.
  4. Cold: Slows targets. Ice, Snow, etc.
  5. Heat: Does damage over time. Fire, Radiant energy (like the sun), etc.
  6. Chaotic: Impossible to resist

Here is the current lists of magic schools and skills. We want each school of magic to have a theme and some interactions with other magic schools (either cooperative or versus). All Active magic spells require reagents. All names are placeholder.

Here is the current lists of Combat schools and skills. We want each school of combat to have a theme. There are 4 Offensive Schools and 4 Defensive Schools. All Combat Skills (active & innate) require the corresponding gear to be equipped (i.e. to use a Blades skill you must have a sword in your hand). Note that all weapons and armor can be used by characters, increasing skills makes them more effective. All names are placeholder.

There are three rings of Crafting: Gathering, Refining and Production. Each ring contains five different skills. The rings represent the paths required to make items. All crafting activities require tools. Refining and Production also require crafting tables and recipes in addition to tools.